Service Award Committee Meeting February 26, 2025

MEETING OPENED:

The East Fishkill Fire District Service Award Committee held their annual meeting for the year 2024 at District Headquarters. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chairman Dixon, Vice-Chairman Shultis, Commissioner Jodlowski, Commissioner Freer, Commissioner Zboinski, Secretary Kaye, Chief John Jackson, 1st Asst. Chief Dan Jackson, Jr., Asst. Chief Steve Conti, Asst. Chief Tom Jackson, Asst. Chief Justin Schuman, Asst. Chief Gary Saltzburg, Jessica Blough, Phil Ricotta, Tom Hussing, George Cummaro and Karl F. Vollmer,

NEW BUSINESS:

Secretary Kaye stated she had one change to the posted LOSAP report. A member turned in training records late and received 17 additional points, which brought his total to over 50 for the year.

Secretary Kaye made the committee aware that there were three members who reached 50 points but are not entitled to LOSAP credit for 2024 because they did not meet the minimum call requirement. Station 1 - Deb Thela, Station 3 - Jack Schmidt and Station 4 - David Hildebrandt. They have been notified.

Commissioner Jodlowski read a letter submitted by member Lynne Stuart requesting an additional 2 points be added to bring her total to 50 points for the year. She explained medical issues prevented her from getting at total of 50 points this year. The committee discussed and it was unanimously decided that this is not a good practice, if we do it for one member we would be obligated to do it for any member who is close to 50 points.

There was much discussion regarding officers who receive points for being an officer but do not do the duties of an officer. As well as members who rely on their officer points to make the final 50 points. All felt that if an officer needs the additional officer points to make 50 points for the year, they are not fulfilling their officer duties. Commissioner Dixon advised that the Board will look into the legal aspect of the program, as well as the Fire District's policy, to see if in the future we can make a change regarding officer points.

1

ADJOURNMENT:

Adjournment was made at 6:17pm, on a motion by Chairman Dixon and seconded by Commissioner Jodlowski.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kathe Kaye Secretary/Deputy Treasurer